Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people are of the opinion that the main purpose of advertising is to encourage consumers to purchase unnecessary products that they do not have a demand for. Despite the potential downsides of commercials, I agree that they increase revenue and competition. Product promotion is a well-tested approach to creating new products in almost all developing countries. First, advertising leads to growth in sales and revenue by helping businesses reach new markets, which in turn can help boost their existing sales. Moreover, in today's competitive society, promotion is a reliable factor in staying ahead of competitors. Business owners whose products are consumed or exploited on a large scale are working with successful commercial agencies to produce favorable results for their businesses. For example, most brand companies like Apple, Zara, or Milka have increased their income due to trendy ads to grab consumers's attention. On the other hand, many people argue that nowadays several companies often sell their products by misrepresenting and distorting the facts, which results in consumers buying mediocre products and feeling cheated. However, when manufacturers advertise their goods, they ask customers to impose their faith in the company, leading to better-quality products and establishing goodwill among salespeople and purchasers. Hence, I strongly suspect that this is an imprudent idea. In conclusion, although the opinions that advertisements are untrustworthy and push to hire minor staff, I believe that increasing sales revenue and competing are the primary goals of advertising, as they possess consumer satisfaction.