Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

English being global langauge has significant importance. It is debatable that regional languages are considered less important because English is taught in the schools as a primary language. So it is believed that mother languages are at the verge of dying due to their restricted use. Well, I personally believe that students should learn English but not at the cost of local languages and this essay will highlight both the given perspectives along with reasons and solutions in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, it is evident that the knowledge of English language is a additional skill which makes folk stand above among all other non english speakers. When a person speaks English, eventually confidence reflects in the personality and this helps job seekers to get job on priority basis. Apart from this, students who can speak English get the privilege to study abroad. Since the craze to study in foreign universities has increased, college students are more keen to learn this universal language. For instance, it is observed that scholars who score higher than 7 band in IELTS which is a English proficiency test, get scholarships to study in western universities. Therefore, speaking English not only aids in getting job, but also gives chance to the students to study from reputed institutes. On the other hand, regional languages are suffering, their grammatical rules are dying and its original accent people are forgetting as others foreign languages are more in use. Firstly, this can be resolved by the initiatives of the family members because elderly exactly know the rawness of their langauge so they can be the best teachers to their grand children to teach dialect. For example, In my neighbours, there is a Sikh family who have made strict rules that the children have to speak Punjabi at home which ultimately helped young ones to learn langauge at home. Secondly, young children should be sent in regional language learning schools on weekends to enhance their vocabulary in mother tongue. Thus, more the interactions in local langauge, lesser will be its rate of disappearence. It can be concluded that English speaking individuals are more privileged over national languages. However, this ignorance to mother dialects can be tackled by started teaching young buds mother langauge at the early stage of their life.