Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get new events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of people throughout the world prefer social networks to meet their needs in consuming of new information and communicating with their loved ones. Some reckon that pros of such new approach are extremely helpful on a daily basis. Others claim opposite. It is disagreed that the advantages of using social media every day outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide several examples to support the thesis. To begin with, the lack of real-life communication with individuals' friends and family can be detrimental to their mental health. For instance, according to a study conducted at the University of North Carolina, people who prefer social media, such as Facebook or Instagram, to be in touch with their relatives suffer depression twenty-five per cent more often compared to the control group of people with different habits. Thus, if a person wants to feel better in terms of mental conditions, it is a good idea to spend more time with their loved ones offline. In addition, modern social media recommendation mechanisms are honed to display viral and emotional content to the viewers. According to the U.S. government data, obtained after several investigations against the Big Tech companies, recommendation algorithms prefer more violent and unpleasant content since it increases the probability of 'commercial clicks' and helps social media to generate more traffic. So, social media platforms are not always good friends if the average person wants to be updated. To sum up, It can be clearly seen that modern media platforms could be not so 'angel' as they want to look. From my perspective, the drawbacks of using social media daily outweigh many advantages. It is recommended to find a happy medium between 'online' and 'offline' pastime.