Write about the advantages and disadvantages of independent learning

Nowadays, most high school and university students tend to study on their own. Self study is a kind of independent learning in which students learn at home without a teacher. However it has many pros and cons that need to be considered First of all, self-study gives learners more freedom and their own study space which makes them comfortable and easier to absorb more knowledge. Secondly, self-study might be a good chance to help students to be responsible as they have to set particular goals and detailed plans for their achievement. Besides, it makes them believe that they can complete tasks given. On the other hand, learners may face some problems. First, almost students got used to having teachers provide them with knowledge. Therefore, when they are self-studying, it will be quite time-consuming as they have to find suitable learning methods to follow. Second, just studying through books or on the Internet leads learners to lack a chance to apply practical skills to their life. In conclusion, independent learning has both advantages and disadvantages. Learners should understand them clearly in order to minimise the drawbacks. In that way, their learning progress will be better and their horizons will be broadened.