You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, more and more people are attempting to take different medicines and treatments rather than asking for advice from doctors whom they are familiar with. The development of this phenomenon may have its pros and cons. On the one hand, according to patients' own backgrounds and health conditions, trying alternative treatments and different medicines may be more likely to give them some more suitbale and flexible prescriptions which are able to help to cure disease specialisedly. For example, people who are facing health problems like obesity and high blood pressure may need some specific treatments which can be different from other common patient who do not have these basic diseases. So it is indeed positive for some people to cure their pains in some aspects. On the other hand, if people give up to see doctors they usually visit, some people may face difficulties in gaining suggestions from a specific doctor who keeps trying to cure the disease from time to time. Thus, patients may fail to obey doctors' advice constantly which is sometimes detrimental to their health and boby conditions. For instance, if a doctor have already give a patient who tries hard to lose his or her weight, however, the patient turn to find some new medicine which may cut down the absorbtion of carbondioxide for help, the effect may be less likely efficient and evident due to the change of the patient's habit. In conclusion, people is now tend to try alternative methods such as looking for medinces and treatments which are different as usual. This trend may be a positive development although it also have some side-effects.