Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open space designs instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of buildings have open-space designs instead of separate rooms. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to a lack of privacy, the easy spread of illness, and problems with constant noise. One serious problem that can arise from open space design of buildings is that it makes people feel lack of privacy. In open Spaces, an employee's work screen may be seen by the next desk, and even when he or she goes to the bathroom, others will notice. This kind of non-privacy environment sometimes also produces pressure, people in the lack of visual privacy in the environment is easy to produce excessive exposure discomfort. Another issue is that open office is easy to spread of illness. Open offices bring employees closer together and make the office environment denser, which can increase the spread of bacteria and increase the risk of employees contracting infectious diseases. Due to environmental factors, employees working in open office environments may have a weakened immune system due to increased stress, which makes employees more prone to headaches and respiratory problem. Finally, work at open office environment causes constant noise which lowers staff performance.