Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a a student's level, Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very ittle about their actual ability. Discuss both views and give your own opinior

Some individuals believe that examinations are a better method of analyzing a pupil's level while others feel that they give extra pressure to youngsters and do not mark their real strengths. I believe that exams pressurize students unnecessarily without judging their real capabilities as it builds anxiety among young learners. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. There are many good reasons for having exams to check a student's level. Most importantly, it gives an update to parents and teachers about the progress children have made throughout the academic period. For instance, first term exam results might help teachers to prepare the next term lessons, keeping in mind the weak areas students had previously. Therefore, we cannot completely ignore the benefits of exams. However, many people believe that examinations cause extra pressure on pupils. Anxiety induced by exams is one of the major factors behind this viewpoint. A very common example is that many brilliant students who have been performing well throughout the year, fail to give an average result due to lack of control over their nerves. Thus, a child's knowledge should not be assessed fully by a single exam in a few hours.   Both views put forward valid points, however, I strongly believe that examinations create extra pressure on students and they cannot indicate actual knowledge of an individual. Many children are getting excellent scores in continuous assessments in class but when it comes to final exams, they are quite anxious and completely forget what they have learned earlier. So, a student's knowledge should be assessed by day to day performance rather than a one day final test. Summarizing the above discussion, there are two schools of thoughts, one favoring exams and other one rejecting them. I feel that examinations are not a good tool to check knowledge because exam induced anxiety creates hindrance to showcase a person's actual abilities.