In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages./ what are the advantages and disadvantages/ do you think the advantages have outweighed the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it’s very easy and comfortable for people to travel around thanks to the cutting-eedge development of transport vehicles. Therefore, young people nowadays tend to prefer taking a gap year to explore everything they want to before entering university and starting their new studying conditions. In my perspective, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks since students can have a chance to develop their soft skills, communication, maturity, and professional attitudes. First of all, having a break from studying after graduating from high school is essential for students to prepare their spirit, thinking, and behaviors. In the teenage years, youngsters may not fully mature and have rare opportunities to challenge themselves due to overprotection from parents. As a result, when they suddenly leave their home and are forced to start living in very different environments, young children may be shocked, as they are too inexperienced. Hence, working or traveling for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies can benefit students by providing them with a mental maturity stage, improving communication skills thanks to sharing views, learning various cultures and languages, and meeting with new interesting people during their travel procedures. For example, a Vietnamese pupil visiting foreign countries and living here for long periods of time can practice and enhance their English skills very often, taking advantage of bilingualism to serve their future studies in university. Additionally, not every student receives financial support, so a gap year before going to university can raise a specific budget. This will provide an important experience for a student to manage their studies with work and help with their tuition fees and subsistence expenses. Moreover, working in a shop or small office will teach the students to understand the working pressure, cooperate with coworkers, and complete tasks on schedule. For instance, a youngster working as a waiter or waitress can learn how to convince and cool down the angry customer during serving, resulting in valuable experience at the university level where, in some circumstances, they have to implement these skills, In conclusion, it is obvious that pre- university jobs and traveling are crucial experiences. These not only assist the young for civil life and toward maturity, improve their soft skills, but also earn them money to prepare for their future school life.