Some Countries have implemented mandatory community programs for young people. In these programs, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages for this for young people?

The obligatory community service where teens are mandated to do voluntary work to help the society, has sparked a substantial debate around the globe. While some advocates for this because of the benefits such as it helps children develop soft skills, as well as foster a sense of community, others contend against it, highlighting the drawbacks which are picking up of sickness from the aged and potential harm from aggressive animals. Analyzing these facts will give a comprehensive overview of this subject matter. On the one hand, diseases can easily be picked up by these teens while helping out elderly people. Another possible demerit is that unfriendly pets can attack or injure them on the work process. For instance, I was treated of tuberculosis when I was young because of my frequent visits to old people’s care home. Clearly, this is an ill health only being around the elderly would cause. Hence, it is apparent that this is a drawback to society and not good for the child’s well-being. On the other hand, teenagers can develop soft skills by caring for people or animals. Furthermore, the arrangements would foster a sense of community, and love which has become obsolete nowadays. For example, my nephew showed a lot of empathy recently, even went as far as reserving some of his lunch for a pet he met at the animal rehabilitation center. Obviously, he would not pick up these skills if he was not asked to volunteer at school. Therefore, it is clear this community programs are beneficial to the society. In conclusion, some country has implemented compulsory community programs where people between the age of 16 to 18 do charity work, which has prompted a considerable evaluation. Many support this initiative, due to it promotes adaptability skills and collaboration in the society. Whereas others refute it, because of possible disadvantages such as transferring diseases to teens and injuries could be caused by animals. Examining this factuality has given an extensive understanding of the merits and demerits of this topic.