Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is said that more and more workers prefer working as freelancers these days rather than working for any company or organisation. The essay below will discuss some possible reasons as well as disadvantages of this matter. To begin with, it is understandable why freelancers have become a cult. Firstly, it is schedule flexibility. The fact is that individuals don't have to spend eight hours per day working at a workplace when they self-work. They are supposed to freely allocate their time, making sure that their work meets the deadline. Secondly, mental development is another factor behind this. Having said that, employees have to make great efforts to meet their customer's requirements. The more effort they put in, the more creative they are. By doing this, they are believed to foster their minds to some extent so that they can gain more reputation and entice customers to come back for more. However, there are a couple of downsides that are attributed to this kind of job. Initially, it would be a limitation in social communication. In fact, they barely strike up conversations with their co-workers as others in the company, leading to their connecting relationship being significantly hindered. Additionally, mental health would be another disadvantage. Working solo means that people must take over all of the workload, which is often delegated to various staff at the organization. As a result, stress and pressure would be unavoidable. The fatigue will set off soon, resulting in potential risks of mental instability, for instance, depression. In conclusion, freelancing professionals are more inclined these days because of flexible schedules and mental boosts, although they are exposed to some negative impacts.