Most countries spend large amounts of money on weapons to defend themselves even when they are not at war. Some believe those countries should spend the money to help poor countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A school of thought holds that governments should allocate money to help underdeveloped nations instead of spending on boosting their military prowess because they are not facing imminent threat of war. In my opinion, I agree with this view. On the one hand, there are several reasons why reinforcing military strength is of importance for a nation, even in peacetime. First and foremost, a capable armed force plays a vital role in not only territorial sovereignty but also national security and stability of a country. This is because having a military capacity would allow a swift response to potential threats such as terrorist attacks and deter other nations from threatening its territorial integrity. However, constantly boosting military strength or testing new weapons may give rise to an escalating arms race that can cause tensions and even conflicts between countries, especially neighboring nations. Moreover, the constant testing of weapons such as nuclear bombs and ballistic missiles and the development of new military technologies can have serious environmental consequences, leading to the release of harmful pollutants and contributing to the degradation of ecosystems. On the other hand, I strongly believe that a portion of the defense budget could be allocated to addressing global poverty and humanitarian crises. This is because many wars and conflicts in the world derive from poverty, inequality and oppression, which create desperation and resentment among people. Hence, by providing financial support to poorer countries, developed nations can help impoverished ones address the root of their problems, such as lack of education, health care and democracy. This would improve not only the living standards and human rights of millions of people, but also a sense of solidarity and cooperation between nations. As a result, the world would become a safer and more harmonious place, where weapons are less needed. Moreover, the reallocation of defense funds will also lead to a reduction in the number of weapon tests and the amount of greenhouse gases as well as the detrimental environmental impacts of defense industries will be lessened. In conclusion, although it is imperative to bolster military capabilities, superpowers should use their resources and influence to improve the lives of others, as this would have positive impacts on global peace as well as the environment.