More and more people want to buy clothes, cars, and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern era, purchasing items such as clothes and cars from famous brands is increasingly popular among a large number of people. The reasons for this trend will be outlined in the following essay and in my opinion, it has a positive effect on society. Firstly, the tendency of using large brand’s products stems from people’s beliefs on personal possessions reflecting wealth, social status and appearance. Moreover, many individuals are fond of clothes, accessories and handbags from well-known brands such as Nike, Adidas or Lacoste because of the high quality and fashionable designs. Some of the high end brands like Hermes, Dior or Chanel help people enhance their appearance compared to smaller brands. Secondly, cars from luxurious brands such as Porsche and Mercedes, which are often exorbitant due to their materials and unique features. Hence, they are considered a tool for the rich. On the other hand, more people purchasing goods from famous brands can bring merits to the business world. Countries where brands are based will have a strong economy. For instance, the USA - the home country of many large brands like Apple, Microsoft, and Amazon has been the strongest economic superpower because the products are not only favourable in domestic but also in foreign markets. Therefore, companies will attract more talents that can contribute to the development of the economy. In brief, there are some clear reasons for this trend. To my mind, it is positive because it reflects that citizens in the country have good income so that they can afford to high quality products from famous brands.