In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Undoubtedly, the exodus of rural people to megacities is becoming more and more frequent, leaving countryside under-populated. Personally, I think the movements of rural inhabitants to cities can have negative implications to both countryside and urban areas. It is clear that the economy in the countryside suffer due to the exodus of talented young people. Nowadays, many young adults relocate to metropolitan cities in search of educational or professional opportunities. Consequently, the number of energetic people labouring in the farmland decreases, which would probably adversely affect the crop yield, lowering the income of farmers. Besides, individuals who leave their hometowns are in most cases energetic and creative young people, without whom the businesses in the countryside would not be able to thrive, making local economy stagnant. This is a vicious cycle, exagerating the young's desire to relocate. As a result, the problem of regional disparities would be more severe. Apart from rural communities, the citizens in urban areas are certainly negatively influenced by the movements of rural people. As the population density rockets in megacities, the livelihood in urban areas suffers. The urban population is increasing in cities, whereas the land resource is limited. The supply cannot meet the demand for housing, which greatly increasing house property prices. For example, a studio in the center of Beijing costs more than 200 thousands euros, putting huge pressure on people living in the capital. Another consequence is that the number of passengers in public transportation has surpassed the capacities of the latter. The metros and buses are always crowded in urban areas, especially during peak hours, adding to the feeling of anxiety that people have already gained from the workplace. In conclusion, in many countries around the world, rural inhabitants are relocating to cities, which will not only curb the economic development in rural areas but also impair the sense of comfort of citizens.