An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development

In this modern era, society normally spend their time watching TV and other entertainment shows. On the TV we often see plenty of public figures with high-level beauty appearances. This leads to the audience expect the same face or torso figures as their idol. As a result, plastic surgery has become a trend in society. This essay will clarify why this phenomenon is a negative situation. To begin with, cosmetic surgery is taken to enhance the beauty of the body. However, “beauty itself” is made up by society and they set up some unrealistic standards of body types. In some societies, women are considered appealing if they have full lips or sharp noses. Consequently, people lose confidence in themselves and are pursuing to fit the beauty standard. This sort of mindset is disadvantageous because people gradually lose their self-esteem and satisfaction. In many cases, people tend to do multiple surgeries after one another which often shape their bodies to appear disfigured, which causes them to even destroy their goal, instead of actualising it. Furthermore, several surgery methods are followed by subsequent potential health issues. For instance, some folk opt for silicone gel to augment their breast size. Little do they know that they would be haunted by the probability of nerve damage or breast cancer. Additionally, it is also often the case, that some societies from lower economic conditions attempt to undergo a surgery procedure with an economical price that is often done by incompetent workers and often causes the patient to suffer from its failure. In conclusion, I determine this trend as an unfavourable issue which can disadvantage individuals mentally and physically.