Some people say it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that learning foreign languages is important and has a lot of benefits for people such as studying in other countries and preventing communication barriers. However, there are some people who believe children should learn foreign languages at primary school, while others do not agree with this statement. To begin with, young children have the ability to adapt more than older kids, also they learn new things quickly. Their brains are more flexible and still growing compared to the older ones. Exposing a foreign language at an early age can enhance an individual’s cognitive development and communication skills for children. For instance, if they go abroad to study or travel, they can use their language skills to communicate with foreigners. In addition, primary school can encourage fast learning for kids. Because they start learning lessons from the bottom to the top. On the other hand, some people argue that there are some disadvantages to practising language skills. First of all, they might be concerned about the emotions of children after learning in school. For example, some children tend to get stressed after learning new languages. Because they cannot communicate and understand it at first. Secondly, it can decrease time of other activities such as sports activities and playing with friends. To sum up, although learning a foreign language has many benefits, there is a drawback too. But I think the advantages of learning linguistic knowledge outweigh the disadvantages.