‘Governments should provide free healthcare to everyone in society.’ How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

Political debates regarding access to free healthcare to all citizens has sparked a considerable debate among different political fringes. While the perspectives vary widely, I argue that access to free healthcare is a significant human achievement and shuld be extended to all the citizens in a country, as I will argue in this essay. Firstly, governments should extend their policies to support all individuals in a society because of a moral imperative towards vulnerable cathegories that cannot afford to provide adequate health coverage to themeselves. This is because all individuals in civilized countries, such as the Western nations, contribute to social welfare through their taxes, thus they should be supported in any health disadvantage they face. For example, medical expenses from individuals with chronic diseases or elderly people should be covered by governments which provides a solid support for the totality of individuals. Together with ethical prerogatives, governments should also be driven by practical objectives when providing a free healthcare. The reason for that is the fact that by helping people all the people in a country, there would be a stronger workforce that could, in turn, contribute by paying taxes. Notably, countries with free healthcare are also the ones with the largest number of working professionals, as the Scandinavian nations where hospitals and free treatments support individuals at all ages and this phenomenon incereases the nation's wealth. To conclude, I contend that free healtcare should be made available to everyone. The reasons for that can be found in the moral imperative to help the cathegories at risk and because these individuals could, in turn, give back to the society. In light of this, I support governmental policies that allocate resources to healthcare to create a more socially responsible society.