Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about the most important issue related to our environment. While some argue that the extinction of some species is vital, others believe that there are other matters which should be considered urgently. In my opinion, the loss of species is very crucial and must be taken into consideration with a high priority. Human activities in several ways, pose a threat to the environment and especially to particular species. Firstly, cutting down trees, either in order to make way for roads and railways or to meet the increasing demand for wood in today’s fashionable architectural plans, has destroyed the habitats of many rare birds, insects and animals. Secondly, the increasing number of factories and industrialised zones brings about more contamination in rivers and causes irreparable damage to sea and river creatures. Finally, urbanisation and the development of cities, in the form of emissions and exhaust fumes, lead to high levels of air pollution. Consequently, the population of more species is becoming eliminated. From a biological poi­nt of view, our planet serves as a home for all living creatures and is a constant cycle of life. Plants,animals and humans are the sections of a whole ecosystem that are dependent on each other. If an external factor poses a threat to just one part of this life cycle, all other parts may not be protected from danger to their life. Therefore, the life of each particular species is as important as others such as human beings. In conclusion, whereas there is a debate on the most vital matter associated with the environment, I believe that the subject of endangered species population is a decisive factor in this regard.