Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Marriages used to be an ordinary event in the past. However, it has become expensive in modern times. In the following paragraph, I will discuss the causes behind this trend, as well as the positive impacts of it. To begin with, nowadays, people have greater access to money than in the past, which leads individuals to purchase expensive items for their wedding ceremony. For example, in the USA, the modern couple spends nearly twice as much on the ring as they used to. Moreover, another reason why weddings cost more in many countries like India is due to the long guest list. Consequently, people have to spend more on food arrangements and extensive, costly venues. There are numerous positive impacts of this trend of spending more money on marriages. One such impact is the availability of employment opportunities for lower-income people. This is because families require the services of cooks, servers, and DJs to fulfil their food and entertainment purposes. Additionally, when families spend more money on weddings, it helps to circulate the money, which ultimately benefits the economy of the nation. For instance, the market of diamonds is only alive because people buy them at such events. To conclude, people spend more on weddings today due to their increased purchasing power, which ultimately boosts the economy and generates jobs.