Nowadays, families are not as close as they used to be What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make family close?

In this current time, family members are moving away from each other compared to the past. In my perspective, there are some factors for this phenomenon, and I will discuss some solutions below. To begin with, the distraction of family members is caused by electronic devices, especially mobile phones or laptops. Due to the development of social media and games, people tend to communicate through apps such as Instagram, Facebook,... For instance, during COVID 19, communication is restricted because of the quarantines, so activities like studying and working were completely performed with Zooms or Teams. Furthermore, we are now facing a hectic life. Heavy workload makes people work additional hours, so the time for family is limited. To illustrate, in some countries, young people choose to do multiple jobs on weekends and work until midnight, so they do not even have dinner with family. As a result, these factors cause the loss of connection between family members and make them separate from each other However, there are potential ways to improve family’s interaction. Firstly, families should set regulations for using electronic devices during certain periods. Some families in the USA apply a no-phone policy in their meals to prevent family members from attaching screens instead of interacting with each other. Moreover, people should also spend their leisure time with other members in the family. The reason for this solution is to connect the generations together. For instance, families in Vietnam choose special holidays during which people can be off from work, such as Lunar New Year or Independence Day. On these occasions, all members have the chance to stay together and bond through some activities like playing board games or watching movies, which can connect them closer and closer. Consequently, these ways help to encourage communication between generations in the family. In conclusion, although hectic life dominate us not to stay close to our parents and siblings, the problems can be solved by using up the time together.