In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, earning and spending money are common topics of conversation between individuals in many countries. There are many factors to this trend in society. I believe that this case has both benefits and drawbacks aspects. To begin with, one of the main reasons money become a hot topic because of technological advancement. People can easily access information on the internet such as social media to keep in touch with their friends or family. For instance, there are people who show off their daily activities to their friends on social media and it leads to comparing individuals with other people who earn and spend more money based on their activity on social media. Moreover, it becomes normal situation for people to show and compare their income and expenses on social media, while in the past people rarely talked about money in society. On the other hand, I believe this trend has advantages and disadvantages for development in society. One of the positive sides is many people will be motivated to push themselves to earn more money and also reach the same level of success. For example, people who have a low economic background will have the stimulation to increase their efforts to achieve success. In contrast, there are disadvantages to this case because leads people to become stressed and low self-esteem by comparing earning and purchasing money with other people. For instance, my friend has low self-esteem because she always compares her economy with people on social media by items that people purchase. In conclusion, people commonly talk about earning and spending money caused by rapid of technology. This case leads benefit to people to increase their motivation to have more income and become a successful person, while it leads drawback for some individuals become stressed and low self-esteem caused by comparing their economy with people on social media.