Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, some research has made it clear that the majority of criminal people have a limited education. As a result, it is believed that the most appropriate choice to minimize the number of crimes is to provide education for prisoners, resulting in job opportunities in the future. However, in my opinion, it is not the best approach in terms of solution. On the one hand, those who support education programs claim that it has several benefits. Firstly, it can enhance the employment level among convicts. To illustrate, offering individuals vocational education, they have a chance to gain real experience and essential skills, such as communication or business. As a consequence of this solution, criminals avoid turning to crime again and their choices can change positively, becoming productive members of society. Also, by educating offenders, countries' overall economy is enhanced because of taxes. Nevertheless, I assert that it is not the best way to address a crime level, instead, it will result in life-threatening consequences for society's welfare and security. If people who break the laws are not punished severely, it is inevitable that they can re-offend, which puts humans in danger. Individuals who are on the street cannot feel safe. Therefore, punishments instead of education have the capacity to diminish the number of lawbreakers, deterring crimes. In conclusion, although suggesting education programs for prisoners have positive impacts on countries' revenue, as well as the job sector, I think the best way to tackle this problem is to implement punishments.