Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, more and more individuals keep with the belief that punishments should be created depending on the kind of crime, while others say that it depends on a motivation for committing it. Although having fixed punishments allows governments to save time, reasons for committing should be considered as well. There should be fixed kinds of punishments for each crime since it allows governments to decide criminals' consequences as quickly as It is possible. They will neither consider the crime nor pay attention to motivations, because of a paper with fixed punishments for each crime. For example, when individuals commit a crime, governments do not spend time checking extra aspects such as criminals' circumstances, since there are papers with fixed punishments. As a result, both authorities and police officers finish the work faster. Therefore, If there is a document about punishments for each crime, it will not be time-consuming. On the other hand, motivations for acting awful need to be considered as well, since there could be some cases when crime has mental damage. They may not be able to take control of themselves. As a consequence, it leads them to commit a crime, they actually do not want. For instance, when people have mental damage, such as kleptomania, they steal goods from shops. Since they are not able to take control of themselves as well as their disease, they steal the items. Thus, both motivations and leading factors should be considered, when choosing the punishments. By taking both sides into account, I think that the reasons for committing should be checked when governments choose punishments. If we include it, we will help individuals with mental damage.