some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With advancements in technology and increased availability of mobile phones, some youngsters waste a lot of their time watching screens, which is not a healthy trend.There are numerous reasons for this negative inclination. First of all, the increased accessibilty is the reason for excess use. This has accompanied the revoultionary change brought in twenty first century in the digital world by the technical giants.These cell phones are accessible to everyone on a very cheap price. Also, these devices provide a variety of features like internet, video games, appstore where all apps are available free of cost, thus luring everyone to buy a good smartphone.People now have given it to childeren as well.In some areas of major cities, every child in a house above 12 years owns a mobile phone. Secondly, the parents have now become very busy with both father and mother working to fulfill the financial requirements.They are unable to pay more attention to their kids and find it convenient to keep them engaged through gadgetries. Thirdly, less outdoor palygrounds playground and sports facilities has also contributed to increased use of mobile apps. In addition the smart phones offer videos and contents for all ages to keep them involved. This is not a good development in general.It causes extra screen time which may affect vision. For instance, my nephew after misspending time on the video games, has now become dependent on the galsses for seeing at age of just ten years. Moreover, it prevents the development of a family bond, with everyone at home being busy with online activities. Furthermore, there may be a tendency for a violent behavior in a child after watching the extreme content. In addition, boys and girls who fiddle away thier time on various gadgets, become house bound and non social with less of actual friends and more of virtual friends. Also, the misuse of technology has forced the youth to adopt a sedentary lifestyle and avoid doing outdoor games that may lead to numerous health problems like obesity, hypertension and diabetes. In a nutshell, the children are spending their precious time on smart phones which is having disastrous consequences on the society at large.