More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that the number of students preferring studying abroad than in their own country increases each year. While there are some drawbacks of studying in a foreign country, I still believe that these cannot overshadow the benefits. On the one hand, studying in an international setting can bring out some obvious disadvantages. Firstly, students will have to live on their own, which means they will be alone in a foreign country. When you have nobody you can rely on, ask for a help or just talk to, this makes a person feel a bit depressed. For a foreign student, it is much harder to stay psychologically stable. Secondly, international students will have to get used to the country's culture and traditions. They will face with a problem which is also known as culture shock. On the other hand, I still believe that the advantages of experiencing international education outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, a new country means broadening a person's horizons and getting new experience. Foreign students, for instance, can practice speaking non-native languages and upgrade their communicative skills and ability to find an approach to people from different countries. Secondly, being a foreign academic helps to become more independent. For instance, while moving to another country person will have to negotiate with a lot of people about flats, education and finding jobs, buying products and budgeting his or her income. In conclusion, it seems to me that studying abroad has more merits than demerits, especially it makes person more self-organised. As a result, students become mature and understand what it is the real life and how to solve problems by themselves.