Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that whom children will become in society depends on the people they are surrounded by. While someone consider teaching children good manners to be responsibility of parents, others concerned that schools are designed for this purpose. Personally, I agree with both views and in this essay I am going to discuss it. To begin with, people with whom children contact mostly after their births are parents. Children listen to them and take into account parental behavior and thoughts. For instance, if child needs a piece of advice, a person he or she will first ask for and listen to is mother or father. This means that parents for them are an example they look up to and admire, they want to be like them. However, it is really important for parents not only to tell how to behave, but also to show it by their own example. By the way, schools also play an important role in children upbringing. Approximately at 6 years old children start going to school where they spend a lot of time and get educated. Moreover, teachers have professional knowledge from university how to talk with kids, how to convey information correctly. This also means that unlike parents teachers have some psychological knowledge. At school children understand the difference between good and bad things and start to behave the way teachers reward. For instance, if one kid got good grade and for that reason was rewarded by the teacher with good words and positive reaction, others would want the same, which will encourage them to study harder and become better. In conclusion, whom children will become in the future depends both on parents and school. Each person plays their own role in child’s upbringing. While parents are a role model of behavior for kids, schools provide children with the knowledge of morality and rules.