Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

There are some countries in the world where poor people die owing to illnesses that are completely curable by proper medication, but they can not pay for it. I believe that medication producers should review pricing strategies in these countries to help these people. This essay will discuss some aspects of this situation and explain why I agree with this idea. There is no doubt that drug companies aim for profits and it is totally acceptable in capitalist system. However, it is known that some enterprises practice abusive prices, once their products save lives. As a result, most people are supposed to pay any value. The problem is people who can not afford it, mainly in developing nations. In this situation, companies that produce essential remedies should reduce their price. This can be done by governments reducing taxes or giving some benefits to these companies. A good example happened in Brazil, in the '90s, when the Brazilian government broke patents for drugs to control AIDS. This measure allowed other companies to produce the same medication at lower prices. Moreover, drug companies should reduce profit rates in poor countries and use them for marketing strategies on social concerns. These companies invest billions of dollars in advertisements each year but do not want to reduce their price. People's lives are much more important than profits. Using this marketing planning can help enterprises sell more in wealthy nations. In addition, the cost of production of medication is not so high. The problem is the cost of research and development (R&D) of new drugs. Once again, governments should help by investing more money in innovation in the health business to reduce the total cost in this industry. To conclude, I think that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices with the collaboration of governments by reducing taxes or giving benefits to businesses that invest in R&D. As some medications are essential for saving lives, they should be affordable for everyone.