The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other private vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The over resilience of humanity on fossil fuels and vehicles is linked directly with the exacerbating climatic situation. There exists an idea that by inflating the cost of fuel, indviduals may find it hard to afford the cost and may eventually stop or reduce using private vehicles. In my perspective, drawbacks of this solution outweighs its benefits and there are few effective alternatives to handle this problem. Firstly, increase the cost of fuels can introduce some other problems, such as econimical economic crisis and social disparity. If lawmakers hike the cost of fuel it will directly put burden on the nation economy. Society dependence on fossil fuels is massive. Everyone need car or other mode of transportation to travel. Moreover, cost of goods delivered to a supermarket using trucks running by igniting fuel will also face a quick jump. All of these costs added up, will negatively affect the population and the nation economu itself. For instance, Canada introduces the carbon tax that resulted in spiked cost of goods. Secondly, lower and middle income group may find it difficult to afford the cost of gas, meanwhile this will has negligible effect on high income group of society. This can lead to social tension. Other effective solutions can be taken into consideration. To illustrate, investing in automation development. The goverment can invest money to fund inventions related to developing efficient engines. Engines that offers high fuel economy and least contamination to nature. For example, Japanese government gave grants to the Toyota to invent the world first commercial hydrogen powered engine. Furthermore, awareness campaings campaign should be conducted to motivate people to use the public transport instead of private. In conclusion, skyrocketing the value of fuel can ameliorate the extreme weather conditions caused by cars and private vehicles, but it is not a comprehensive solution.