Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these laws introduced ?. Is this a positive or negative trend ?

Presently, government in many countries decided to implement laws to restrain the working hours on the grounds of preempting exploitation. The writer of this essay reckons that this decision is a positive choice due to high productivity.         It is essential to understand that reducing the hours of work can avoid exploitation from working for long hours. This is due to the fact that many companies not only want to satisfy their customers in a fast pace but also want to conduct a lay-off in personnel so as to save money. As a result, companies are forced to give much work the remaining employers and ask them to finish it in a short time which is out of their competence. Therefore, these employers have to work for long hours in order to complete their mission without increasing the salary which is called as exploitation. A paradigm for this situation is China where this country is a competitive market that make employers have to make a determine to gain achievement if they want to continue working at a prestigious companies. Because of this reason, many countries stretchs this characteristic to take the advantage of employers to give them many projects and work more at night prompting to exploitation until Chinese government had to ring the alarm and stringently steer the number of hours working at the company.         Another factor that make time limitation become a positive trend is ensuring the productivity. An explanation for this can be found in the form of people who have a desire to boost their income, have an inclination to work for more hours, even working part time at night after a long day work at the company. As a consequence, overworking can drain their time leading to not having enough time to take care of their health. Although the intial goal is to earn more money, this long-term action is counterproductive resulting in the degradation of health and inducing burn-out. Therefore, the result of the fatigue is the volatility of the productivity and is capable of distracting them from concentrating on their work which are the threat to the position and salary. Thus, limiting the time facilitates guaranteeing the productivity. Hence, the aim of restraining working hours is to avoiding exploitation. Moreover, this changes can be seen as a positive trend due to ensuring the productivity.