Many Elderly People are No Longer Looked after by Their Families but are Put in Care Homes. What are the possible reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trends?

The trend of putting senior family members in the care homes has became prevalent in the past few years. There are several plausible reasons for that phenomena along with the following outcomes, which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, family members do not have adequate time. Generally, each member already engage with their own business such as work or study, hence make them cannot allocate time to take care the older family members. Secondly, they want a liberty. Taking care ageing family members require others to perform cautious behaviours and create specific environments, since they vulnerable from certain diseases such as heart attack. Therefore, it makes people cannot easily act to their according, resulting in make them want to live separately. It can be witnessed through urban residents in Jakarta, where they intentionally send their family members who are over 65 years old to the elderly house or Panti Jompo in order to have more freedom to held parties or sociable events in their house. The consequence from that decision led into several outcomes. From the positive sides, it can minimise the risks from having psychological disturbance. Recent research by Statista unveils that almost 87% of American adults suffer from stress and burnout because they should nurture at least a senior in each household. The primary reason is due to the restriction to perform certain behaviours that potentially make the seniors disappoint or surprised. Further, adults can have a better time management. Imagine if ones have to attend virtual meeting with a supervisor, and concurrently the senior family members need their assistance to take the stairs. Since looking after senior members essentially require special attention, it can be difficult for some people to manage their personal and professional time; therefore, put them in the care homes can be helpful for adults as they will saving more times to focus on their personal or professional matters. On the contrast, the action itself potentially reduce the intimacy levels between family members. Since they live in separate place, the seniors are possibly lost their contacts and the scarcity to meet each other often, causing a degradation of intimacy between the younger and older members. Moreover, the adults can experience lack of nutrients. In fact, several nursing homes already scheduled the general menu for meals, which is not adjusted to the requirements of each senior, hence it can make their conditions vulnerable to certain illness. To conclude, although the trend is quite popular these days, the decision to put older family member in the care homes may be fueled by the unavailability to allocate specific time as well as the act to want a freedom. Although it is good for their psychological conditions as well as time management, it can reduce the intimacy levels and dangerous for the health level of adults.