Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What are the effects of this?

Despite knowing about biodiversity ’s importance for a long time, human activity has been causing massive extinctions of different species. This essay will examine the main causes of loss of biodiversity and provide feasible effects of this problem. The two main causes of species extinction are change of their habitats and overexploitation of natural resources. When humans artificially transform the environment, they destroy vegetation and animals’ natural habitat. For instance, building new roads people involves cutting down the trees and cementing the soil and altering the environment and because of that a lot of species are dying out. Also, when the activities connected with capturing and harvesting a natural resource are too intense in a particular area, the resource becomes exhausted. For example, too frequent fishing does not leave enough time for fish to reproduce and makes them disappear. In other words, human activities often deplete local flora and fauna and cause loss of bio-diversity. The primary effects of biodiversity loss are lack of food supply and loss of natural services. Biodiversity provides a variety of foods for the planet and because of the availability of different species, humans are able to obtain a range of materials and foods to support their well-being and health. Meat from wild animals forms a critical contribution to food sources in many different countries, especially those with high levels of poverty and food insecurity. The Earth also provides us with natural services that we often take for granted which are usually described as Ecosystem Services. These include water, soil formation and protection, pollution breakdown and absorption, climate stability and recovery from natural disasters. With the loss of biodiversity we have no access to these natural services. For example, many communities have experienced more natural disasters, but because of the loss of mangroves and coral reefs, which are excellent natural buffers against floods and storms, coastal communities have - from severe floods. To conclude, people’s activities that change the environment have negative impact on the world's ecosystem and unfortunately, it can have dire consequences for humanity in terms of food production and natural services