Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are opposite views whether house should be build based on certain rules or ones preferences. This essay will discuss both views alongside with my own opinion on each notion. On the one hand, similar design in order to match the tradition that has been carried locally. It can be seen through several traditional hamlets in Scotland, where people do not have liberty to build and design their accommodation based on modern trends. The maximum innovation that can be placed on each house is only the opt to put small chimney on the roof, which can differentiate each house. Based on the interview retrieved from The Guardian with one of the locals, they said that distinctive exterior designs as well as the building structures can potentially ruin and threat the images of the village that have been carried and nourished since late 1900s, which want to be introduced to visitors; therefore local municipalities decide to issued local decree for villagers who want to reside in that area. Even though that condition can be a good opportunity to respect and introduce local traditions to outsiders, I believe that condition can hinder people ’s creativity. On the other hand, the allowance to design house based on personal preferences enables people to fulfill their own requirements. Generally, there are some family members that require particular innovations that should be taken into consideration when they want to build a house. Imagine if someone cannot install a designated chair elevator for the mobility of the senior members in their family due to particular restrictions. Consequently, it can deteriorate their physical functions and lower their immune system, since their movements are limited. Therefore, I agree with this notion because house can be seen as one of the prominent investments for people to heighten their health conditions. In conclusion, although designing house based on particular styles can be a good opportunity to match the local tradition, I believe that people should have their own liberty to build their dream house, as it can be adjusted to fulfill their personal requirements.