The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is universally admitted that the ever-alarming rate of traffic accidents is one of the thorniest issues concerning governments the world over. Amongst the arguments surrounding how to improve traffic safety, one school of thought claims that this aim could solely be realized by disciplining traffic offenders stricter. While this course of action works to a certain extent, I would not believe that it is the only solution to such a problem, and am going to suggest other measures that are no less viable. It is understandable why some advocate tightening the punitive sanctions upon traffic violators. The key rationale behind this notion is that doing so would deter traffic participants from breaking road regulations. Deterrent measures, such as levying a hefty fine on traffic light runners or indefinitely confiscating driver's licences of those who drive under the influence, would go a long way in ensuring the culture of safe driving among the masses, contributing to lower rates of traffic -related fatalities and injuries. Therefore, it seems sensible why punishing traffic offenses more aggressively is one of the valid proposals. However, to say that issuing heavier punishments is the sole solution to the problem of road safety seems rather short-sighted, since there could be other remedies as follows. First, fixing road defects such as potholes, poor-conditioned signage and uneven surface would be effectual in curbing the incidence of traffic accidents occasioned by said road imperfections. Second, and perhaps most importantly, the public's awareness of traffic security should be raised. Since most vehicle crashes arguably stem from poor driving behaviors, educating the populace of how driving safely could spare not only their lives but also others' would directly confront one of the root causes of traffic accidents. In conclusion, while imposing stricter penalties on traffic law-breakers is indeed one of the approaches that may yield desirable results, I am against the idea that only by adopting this solution could traffic safety improve, since there could still be other effective measures as mentioned above.