Prevention is better than cure" Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Health is the state of physical, mental and social well-being. I agree to the given statement that prevention is better than cure because after treatment the damage done to mental status can not be fully recovered. This essay will shed light why I am in favour of providing health education and prevention measures to people. To commence with, preventive measures are cost-effective in long run, reducing the overall financial burden on the healthcare system and pockets of common man. For example, in India, more than 70 million people are diagnosed with diabetes which is a non-communicable disease. Therefore, they spend a large amount of money to treat it and sometimes take medicine for their whole life. As a result, they spend a great proportion of their income to get treatment. However; if they would be provided healthcare education and take necessary steps to avert such diseases, they can use their money for productive works. Thus, a proactive approach to healthcare can lead to healthier population, which inturn contributes to the economic productivity of a country. Moreover, investing in health awareness system can significantly increase public awareness of healthy practices, thereby reducing the incidence of preventable ailments. However, many disorders are genetic and many infections are communicable for which the authorities should have to make prior plans. For example; during Covid pandemic many nations were not able to handle the cases because they did not have necessary plans. Thus, there should be adequate vaccinations and treatment plans to showcase the control of serious illness. To conclude, the authorities can aware people about the preventive measures to ensure their balanced life along with allocating treatment measures for serious malady for comprehensive healthcare system.