Many people aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of people opt to improve their quality of life through economic growth. As a result, some crucial social values are lost. However, I think the merits of economic development outweigh the demerits. To begin with, economic growth has several advantages. First, it is beneficial to improve education level. To be specific, as a country becomes economically successful, the government can invest more money on education. Thus, it empowers the individual's knowledge. Consequently, the number of well-educated workforce increases. Moreover, as the economy grows, healthcare services will also improve. Hence, economic development is a focal point of developing overall well-being of the nation. However, not all aspects of this trend are advantageous. The more the economy becomes successful, the more individuals lose their social values. To illustrate, for business achievement, people should work overtime and thus, it culminates in reduced family time and socializing opportunities. For instance, South Korea, which experienced dramatic economic success, always rank highly in working hours. Hence, economic accomplishment is not always favourable to society. In my view, the most paramount aim of the society should be protecting the vulnerable. Therefore, although economic development brings some disadvantages, it is highly beneficial as it guarantees overall well-being, which positively effects vulnerable groups such as the elderly, women, and children. To conclude, I firmly believe that the benefits outweigh the shortcomings of the economic growth because it is favourable to attract investment towards healthcare and education facilities, which is consequently helpful to socially disadvantaged groups.