The efficientfunctioning o f society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society functions well if the individuals are free and do what they want to do is right up to some extent whereas it is important to impose strict rules and laws if government wants to make it a better place to live. Although, it is every citizen's responsibility to follow rules and regulations to run their surroundings smoothly. People claiming that the benefits it offers are no match for its drawbacks. I agree to the given notion as government has to impose stringent orders to make this world a better place. Firstly, human rights are essential up to some extent as if pupils are not free, they will not be able to grow as in some countries humans do not have freedom to speech as we can take an example of Gaza where everything is ruined and public is surviving alot due to terrorist attacks. So, freedom is also necessary. Secondly, some countries has very strict laws and this actually shaped people into good human beings. For instance, in Dubai if you are leaving your car windows open, nobody will steal your goods even if it costs millions of dollars as they cut hands of theives. So, I agree that it is important for the administration to force masses to follow legal codes. To sum up, I agree that it is important for every country to land with some sort of harsh acts so that masses do not take benefit to hurt others.