Life now is better than it was 100 years ago. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statment? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Several individuals prefer working for long hours and as a result, they don’t get enough time for leisure activities. Making a good career and creating a competitive edge over colleagues are the biggest advantage while mental health issues and developing bad habits are the primary disadvantages of this phenomenon. To commence with, nowadays competition in the job market is fierce, and it is very difficult for employees to get promotion or find a job with a good salary. Therefore, to sustain the job they have and to get a raise, workers often choose to work beyond their regular job hours. Consequently, employees who show more dedication towards their job by working for long hours, create a competitive edge over their colleagues. For example, as per the recent study, most managers tend to have a positive image for employees who work after job hours. Although working for more hours is advantageous for better career prospects, it shouldn’t be prioritized at the cost of leisure and fun activities. To explain in detail, leisure activities like light exercise, going for small trips, spending quality time with family all have a significant impact on physical and mental well being. Since many people suffer from mental health issues due to long working hours, they start smoking cigarettes and drinking alcohol to cope with the stress. This is why, working for long hours is not recommended when mental and physical health get compromised. In conclusion, even though spending extended hours at work may increase the chances of getting promoted or getting a pay raise, its adverse effects on mental and physical health should be taken into consideration while deciding to work for long hours. Additionally, developing the habit of drinking and smoking to reduce the stress at work is never a good option either in the short run or in the long run.