Television as powerful educational tool or mindless entertainment ? What extent do you agree or disagree ?

There is argue that television is strong teaching system or fruitless facility? I believe media specially Tv are aimed in wrong direction and cannot be beneficial tool. To begin with, one of the most common items that can be found in all homes is television and they can be very effective in both positive and negative way. Unfortunately, this type of media has been miss leaded and most of the shows and programs are just contained usual and useless information. For example, some research's indicate that a significant number of viwers are just follow daily shows same as beauty and fashion trends that they are spreading some unrealistic view about life and unusable facts. Additionally, there are some channels such as national geographic that provides numerous opportunities for learn about our environment and find out about nature. Although, those programs do not have advertisment, as a results, the audience are not aware of these options and just follow other news rather then positive data. In conclusion, I generally believe media could be accurate and advantageous, nonetheless, this has been mis oriented and their goals are just simple ones and the viewers are not aware of benefits of media.