In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some nations, despite the decreasing rates of serious crimes, people tend to feel less secure compared to the past. The most obvious causes are previously committed crimes and the detailed description of such criminal scenes on the news, and the most viable solutions are more safety measures in place and detail of any serious case should be banned on the news. Sometimes, previously committed crimes make people feel less protected. This is because they still have memories of criminal cases and how they happened in the past. As a result, they tend to feel insecure whenever a stranger's presence exists. Moreover, watching the news which contains detailed cruel acts of criminals also leads to unsafe feelings. That is to say, If television and other types of news media visualize the scene of serious crimes too realistically, it will potentially result in destructive mental health, making people afraid of going outdoors and worried about what terrible situation could happen to them. For example, many studies indicate that several individuals are tendentially anxious about going outside after witnessing news of serial murders. A possible solution to this issue is putting more safety measures in place in order to help people to feel safer. This gives people a sense of security and a way to protect themselves as well as seek help when they are in danger. Another viable solution is regulating and filtering the information published in news media. Specifically, choosing what viewers should see helps people not meet detrimental information about serious criminal cases that potentially lead to damage to mental health. In many nations, the government orders control of details in murders in order to avoid negative effects on national people. In conclusion, previously committed crimes and detailed news on any serious crimes can lead to people feeling less safe. However, this can simply be prevented by putting extra safety measures in place and compelling news channels to stop showing comprehensive details of dangerous crimes.