12.The range and quality of foods have been improved with the development of technology and scientific advance. Some people think it is a good development while others consider it harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Food processing technology has improved the variety of foods available and their quality. A portion of society argues that it is a beneficial advancement while others contend that it has negative effects. Both of the viewpoints have their own rationale but I reckon that overall it has improved the eatables. To begin with, there are many improvements caused by the scientific advances in the edible items. At first, it has decreased the overall perishability of the eatable items. Many methods have been introduced to increase the shelf-life of the products. For instance, pasteurization has improved the dairy products. Nowadays, dairy can be stored for a longer period of time than the past. Consequently, it resulted in the sustainability of the agriculture. The overload of produce waste and production demands had caused numerous environmental damages in the past. Hence, the produce storage techniques and advancements in the food storage has lowered the burden on the fields. Now, the ecosystem is more sustainable than the bygone era. On the contrary, the contenders think that the technology has adverse effects on the human well-being. One argument provided by such people is that a plethora of the food additives added to the perishable items to preserve them are dangerous to the human health. For instance, many studies suggest that preservatives have carcinogenic effects on the genetic material of the organisms. Hence, they do not favour such kind of advances in the biochemical science and believe that it have damaged the well-being. To conclude, it is crucial that the production and the storage of the agricultural produce becomes sustainable and reduce any environmental pressure. However, the worries of arguers about the harmful effects of the chemicals on the living organisms are concerning. In a nutshell, people have benefited from the advances in the science.