In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

In some countries, kids are informed that they would achieve anything if they try their best. There are some benefits and drawbacks of this. One of main advantages is that it can cultivate children’s perseverance. This is because people often doubt themselves especially when they fail, and then give up early. Hence, understanding that effort can overcome obstacles encourage them to make persistent efforts, which may lead to the final success. Furthermore, this trait makes it possible for one’s future accomplishment both in career and academics. For example, many world champions have trained hard since their youth as their coach stimulated them that the harder they work the more likely they would win. Had it not been for the belief, they would not persevere in improvement, get through the extremely difficult times and gain the accomplishment. Turning on the drawbacks of the message, it creates unrealistic expectations: continuously telling children they can achieve anything through hard work may set unrealistic expectations, contributing to disappointment when they encounter insurmountable obstacles. In addition to hard work, success is a combination of factors, such as opportunities, luck and time. Therefore, not everything can be achieved by efforts. For instance, image a child who is passionately interested in becoming an astronaut, working tirelessly towards this dream with the belief that hard work alone will guarantee a place in space. Despite excellent grades and a strong work ethic, they might face unanticipated barriers like stringent physical requirements, highly competitive selection processes, or unforeseen health issues. This scenario exemplifies how nurturing the belief that hard work guarantees success can lead to unrealistic expectations, potentially setting the stage for significant disappointment when confronted with the complex realities of achieving such highly specific and competitive goals. In conclusion, telling the children they can achieve anything through hard work can build up their perseverance. However, this message also risks setting unrealistic expectations, ignoring the multifaceted nature of success.