The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

There is a merit in the argument that science’s primary gold should be improving human’s lives. Undoubtedly, advancements in medicine, agriculture and technology have increasingly enhanced our well-being. Vaccine have eradicated diseases, improve crops yield and prevent plants from pathogens, and online communication have fostered global connection. The most crucial role of science lies in its pursuit of knowledge itself. This quest fosters innovation and problem-solving, which can ultimately translate into solutions for critical challenges like climate change and resources depletion. Moreover, scientific exploration broadens our understanding of the universe and place with it, encouraging a sense of wonder and inspiring future generations of scientists. However, a society anthropocentric view of science can be short-sighted. Understanding the natural world, regardless of immediate benefit, often leads to unforeseen applications that ultimately improve lives. For instance, research on basic physics, initially theoretical, provided the foundation of the life-saving medical instruments and technology such as X-rays and Ultrasound. Additionally, the further adaptations of scientific fields have been combined efficiently in order to develop and make people’s quality of life better. We apply chemicals to be used in biological investigation, fingerprint detection, and paternity testing, for example. In conclusion, while improving human lives is noble aim for sciences, the pursuit of pure knowledge complex understanding of the universe should not be discounted. It is the synergy between these goals that fuels progress and ensures the long-term benefit of humankind.