Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity.’ Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Various sports are played by people around the globe. While a comparatively small segment of the demographic engages in such activity directly, sports does play a crucial role in the human development. This essay will outline how sports activities are beneficial to the mankind. It is the know fact that the opportunities one gets, if he becomes a successful athlete, are far less compared to traditional careers that people pursue. And even if one is successful it comes with a cost, as activities related to sport cost a fortune both to an individual as well as the government. The equipment and infrastructure needed in the journey to become a master in this field require a ton of money. Thus, the risk outweighs the reward and therefore people consider sports as a pastime activity. A recent article in Hindustan times newspaper claimed that one out of a thousand cricket players are selected in the Indian cricket team. While it is true that most individuals consider sports as a fun time, it is also known that sport plays a crucial role in the motivating a person and helps with economic development of a country. It is because of various sports activities that people come together to support their team, which ignites the flame to nationalism. A successful sportsperson is considered by many people as their role model in life and they motivate people to stay healthy and fit. Various domestic and international tournament and competitions play a huge role to increase the revenue of the government. Such competitive activities nurture various businesses in a country directly and indirectly, which is a win-win situation for all. Cricket, a popular sport in India, is considered a religion here. According to a recent survey, sports channels are watched 60% more than the rest, on the television in India. This survey also declared that BCCI, the authority figure for cricket in India, is the richest Board in the world and generates a revenue of INR 10,000 crore for the nation. To conclude, it is true that pursuing sports as a career can cause a dent in the pocket at an individual level, but on the flip side it can also be a turn-around story for a nation on a broader scale. I would recommend the government to come up with various subsidies to encourage sports enthusiasts.