Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Use of various online platforms for connectivity and staying updated with the current affairs is the new normal in todays world. While every new technology has its pros and cons, this essay with outline how these platforms are a boon to the mankind. The downside of constantly being online on such platforms takes a toll on the general wellbeing of an individual in terms of mental and physical health. People use the internet for unproductive activity for long hours, leading to health issues like diminishing eyesight, stress, anxiety and back pain. Spending unnecessary time on such platform, separates them from the actual physical world. A recent study by statistics India claimed that an average Indian enjoys a screen time of approximately 4 hours a day, which has detrimental effect on their health. On the flip side, the advent of the internet has brought the world closer. People can now stay constantly in touch with their loved ones who are in distant land. Emotions and information throughout the world globe and be shared with the click of a few buttons. People are able to express their views and thought on a topic in a better way. Individuals, corporations and governments, use these platforms to share important data in a matter of seconds. Important news, fact and figures spread like a wild fire these days. A common man today is well informed about their rights and so deceiving them was a thing of the past. Social media is the new weapon to bring a revolution in the society. A recent article in the Hindustan times claims that use of social media has brought down corruption by 20% at the bureaucratic level. To conclude, even though there are a few downsides of using social platforms, the productive impact this technology has brought in the human society are astronomical.