Many people think that painting and music do not directly improve the quality of people. Therefore, governments should not spend too much money on artistic projects. Do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, with the increasing numbers of individuals who pay more attention to the improvement and convenience of science and technology, people have started to neglect the importance of art. Hence, some people harbour a belief that authorities should not spend too much funding to develop the artistic realm. From my perspective, it is a very controversial issue which deserves a in-depth discussion, and a conclusion will be drawn. To begin with, art plays a vital role in our daily life. Admittedly, there is a growing tendency that people nowadays to either participate in art exhibitions, or join music concerts as a way of fostering relationships with family and friends during the weekend. Moreover, art projects are an effective and achievable solution to relieve the pressure from work and study. According to a study conducted by National Taiwan University, 80 percent of middle-aged adults reflected that having positive and constructive thoughts after participating in art activities. On the other end of the spectrum, Artworks effectively and unexpectedly shrink the gap and promote more interactions between countries. For instance, BTS, a Korean K-pop group, was extremely popular among millennials and invited to give a speech encouraging teenagers to love themselves at the United Nations. Music demonstrates that it can connect thousands of people across language barriers. In conclusion, even though artworks do not directly affect improving people's lives, their merits must not be ignored by governments due to the function of connecting relationships and the benefits that shrinking the country's barriers.