The government’s investment in arts, music and theater is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, governments have increased their investment in the art industry. Regimes should direct their funds to the public sector instead of wasting money by financing the arts industry. I disagree with this argument to a greater disgree; However to a lesser extent, i agree with it. I believe that government investment in the arts sector can help drive economic success and improve the overall wellbeing of the society. The arts industry attracts tourists from different parts of the world consequently, bringing foreign currency and jobs for the citizens expanding the tax base for the government. For example, the United States of America generates about 190 billion from the tourism sector. Also, music shows and theaters can improve the mental and physical health for certain demographs of society, the elderly in particular. For instance, some studies show that when young children have access to arts and music, it improves their performance in academics. However, to a lesser degree, authorities of a country should fund public services instead of spending huge amounts in music, arts and theater because it generally improves the wellbeing of the general public. Diverting investment to basic public services such as education, healthcare and electricity will benefit the citizens. In conclusion, the government funding to the arts industry is a waste of money so they should invest it in the public services. I disagree to a larger extent with this statement because the arts industry is one of the crucial industries boosting the economy but to a slight extent i agree that this revenue should be redirected to the public sector as it enhances the overall wellbeing of the general public.