Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some who believe that newspapers and TV news are irrelevant and unnecessary; therefore, public should not read and watch them anymore. I disagree with these opinions, as I found these platforms helpful in providing the public with some global and current issues, economics, and social life from various ages, which I will discuss in this essay. Firstly, newspapers play a pivotal and essential role in society. Many individuals begin their day by reading some information provided in the paper; moreover, they also sometimes rely on that. For instance, workers who have a jobs in the economic and trade sectors need to know the current global issues about economics, exports, imports, and commodities; therefore, by reading newspapers, they can enhance their knowledge. In addition, by reading newspapers, folk will know about what is happening not only in their country but also in other areas. Thus, this helps them to discuss with their peers in life. Furthermore, television news is also beneficial for the elderly. Older population tend to prefer watching over reading due to the fact that their eyes can get tired easily. As a result, they can also stay informed about what is happening globally through television news. Additionally, TV report provides information about the weather conditions in places; hence, this can help them forecast and predict the things they need to bring. Overall, newspapers and TV news are still relevant and beneficial for society, as they can help society of various ages be informed about the news, current issues, and trends around them.