Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in other countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Various controversies have emerged as to whether professionals should work in other states. While many people think that professional workers owe a debt to the country they trained in, I believe that they should be free to work where they choose because they can earn more money. On the one hand, professionals often receive considerable funding from their government to become fully qualified. It is only fair that they should repay this subsidy by working in that place. This is because they often do jobs that greatly benefit society, and this is why their government invested in them in the first place. Take Taiwan as an example; the government spends millions of TWD training junior doctors through university tuition fees and training programs. On the other hand, every individual should have the opportunity to reach their maximum potential. Those employed in the professions are some of the world’s most highly skilled employees. Thus, they are in huge demand in the labour market. There is a global market for their skills, and they can command much higher salaries by moving abroad. If they were blocked from doing so, it would be a substantial financial drawback for the individual. For instance, software engineers can make hundreds of thousands of dollars more in well-paid countries, such as the US, compared to remaining in Asia. In my opinion, I totally agree that individuals have the right to work wherever they please, regardless of any nationalistic considerations. By way of conclusion, though there is a tremendous amount of investment in a professional’s development, I firmly believe that people should have the right to choose whether to repay that by working in their home state or moving to a region that pays them the highest value for their skills.