Some people claim that there are more disadvandages of car ownership than advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Some people opine that owning a car has more merits than demerits. However, I do not think so, and I will discuss both pros and cons of it in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, people show their society states by luxury cars. Especially, sports cars are the cars only rich people can afford them because their prices are usually higher than a house. In my opinion, racing cars are quite beautiful! People may pay a lot of money to get one. On top of that, cars are useful, because if you have a car, you can go to anywhere you want. Taking coaches is not convenient, due to the lack of timetables, and bus stops are everywhere. For example, a car owner can go to a remote area alone, and he or she can stay there as long as they want. Furthermore, people can sleep in their cars, but people can not stay a whole night on a motorbike. These are the benefits of cars. On the other hand, cars are not usually cheap. According to accounting theory, the time you buy a car, you will lose 3% of its value, and you will keep losing 5% year by year. Furthermore, you have to pay the insurance, maintenance, repair fee, and so on. It is pricy for many people, but nowadays most people have cars, and if you do not have a car, how can you live your life? For instance, my friend Betty is a woman without a car, and everyone considers she is poor. She and my other friends do not have common topics to chat with. As a result, cars play an important role in our society. In a nutshell, driving cars is essential in our world, but I think this is not a necessity because we can use other ways to reach a place. Cars are so costly, that not everyone needs them and can buy them. However, owning a car does have many good in your life, such as showing off, having a common with others, handy transportation, and so forth. In my view, without a car, people can still be alive, and people do not have to buy a car. Instead, they can use that money to do other things they like.