31.Some people say that too much time and resource are spent on the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

While some may argue that excess time and funds are spent safeguarding wild animals and birds I firmly believe that this is a crucial endeavour for our society. There are a lot of benefits for spending our resources for wildlife. Firstly wild animals and birds are also life forms and have their right to live in this world protected. This is because our ancestors have come from the great apes who used to survive in the jungles. Moreover wild animals play a crucial role in maintaining biodiversity of nature.Wild animals are also important as they are part of the food chain many a plants and animal species are maintained in equilibrium because each species is linked to the other in different ways. Forexample if the population of wild cattle increases exponentially then it would destroy the flora of the region as being herbivores they may take to indiscriminate feeding of plants, this is kept under check by wild animals such as tigers,lions and other carnivores. Additionally wild animals also maintain the agriculture industry as they support farming.As various studies have shown birds are essential for pollenising plants for their cultivation. This is significant essentially because without them the agricultural output would decrease which may result in global hunger. Wild animals and birds also play a major role in maintaining forests as they help increase the fauna by pollination resulting in increased forest cover of our planet which halts the global warming and replenish the atmosphere of its oxygen. Another important reason for protecting them is the indiscriminate poaching that is pushing many of the wildlife to extinction.Already many wild animals and birds have become extinct due to widespread poaching by illegal hunters who hunt them for their horns,skin,teeth etc.It is important to remember the idea of sustainable existence where current population should be aware of living minimally without destroying the wild life which has been mentioned in the United Nations resolutions as well. To conclude,wild animals and birds play a pivotal role through various means in maintaining all the life forms in our planet and they care should be of utmost importance to mankind.