Some people believe that the expansion of tourism is ruining the culture of a country, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is this debate over whether the problem of expanding tourism will end up destroying the culture of a country or preserving it. Before throwing our judgement so fast, we should consider the situation rationally. Personally, in this ever-changing world, I believe that neither of them would happen by the expansion of tourism, as long as the government takes action in the right way. On the one hand, no culture can be preserved better without letting others know about it. The essence of tourism is not only about showcasing the uniqueness of one's culture to that of the tourists, but also about letting the world know there are certain special things that are worth the tourists to visit and feel about them. For example, in China, there are 56 ethnic minorities living in different regions of the country, yet if the tourists don't go there and travel, then the cultural heritage of those people would be hidden under silence. Also, the expansion of tourism would give the opportunity to the local residents a second chance of employment in those areas. By doing so, it will simply boost the economy. So, the government should try their best to regulate the rules and better serve the tourists as well as better preserving their local culture. On the other hand, the probability of expanding tourism may end up destroying the nature of certain cultures. Generally speaking, the vast majority of the people in a country, they do have their own beliefs that they have been holding for centuries. So, it is their duty to preserve those beliefs from being forgotten and left behind. For instance, in Kazakhstan, people believe that the increasing number of tourists will ruin their belief, however, it certainly did. The increasing number of tourists did affect the way those people do things in their daily life. They feel that making money is what success really means and many people end up not doing what they have been preserving. So, the government has the responsibility to do what is expected of their citizens by protecting their cultures. By this mean, the culture can be protected without worrying too much about the potential effect of allowing tourism to expand and to accept as many tourists as possible. In conclusion, there is no culture in this world that has no potential danger of being ruined, tourism may or may not be one of those causes. However, what really matters is how the preserver of the culture and how the government of a country reacts. Finally, the ultimate goal of preserving a culture can be fulfilled.